is this a virus?

Message Bookmarked
Bookmark Removed
two emails i've just received that make no sense to me. Both of them come with a moderators page for ILE attached. What does this mean? And since one of them is listed as returned mail (which i didn't write) does this mean that a person or a worm is fraudulently using my email address?

Delivered-To: hiatus@h.pop.ihug.co.nz
Date: Fri, 26 Apr 2002 07:22:45 -0600 (MDT)
Date-warning: Date header was inserted by l-daemon
From: postmaster
Subject: Returned mail--"do you do when you write something on ile that"
To: hiatus@ihug.co.nz

The following mail can't be sent to boxcubed@yahoo.com:

From: hiatus@ihug.co.nz
To: boxcubed@yahoo.com
Subject: do you do when you write something on ile that
The attachment is the original mail

Attachments:
href.pif


admin-q-and-a-fetch-msg[10].htm


Delivered-To: hiatus@h.pop.ihug.co.nz
Date: Fri, 26 Apr 2002 07:23:21 -0600 (MDT)
Date-warning: Date header was inserted by l-daemon
From: marcopolo_89
Subject: Meeting notice
To: hiatus@ihug.co.nz

Attachments:
name.exe


admin-q-and-a-fetch-msg[22].htm

hamish, Friday, 26 April 2002 00:00 (twenty-four years ago)

i dont know. but look at this http://www.cbs.com/specials/living_dead/

mike hanle y, Friday, 26 April 2002 00:00 (twenty-four years ago)

Thanks Mike.

hamish, Friday, 26 April 2002 00:00 (twenty-four years ago)

(can we freeze this thread right here? Best ILE page evah!)

Brian MacDonald, Friday, 26 April 2002 00:00 (twenty-four years ago)

Sorry to fuck with the thread freeze, but I'd say the .exe is almost definitely a virus...be very careful, there's a lot floating around this weekend.

Queen G, Saturday, 27 April 2002 00:00 (twenty-four years ago)

A couple of suggestions about basic virus security, beyond a virus checker (which can't cover the latest viruses). If it appears to be a pic, open an image viewer and then open the file from the image viewer. Don't trust Word documents - virus- or trojan-like macros can be embedded in Word. Open Wordpad then open the file from inside that - Wordpad won't run any macros, so it's safe. The above is a safe way of viewing attachments, so that we don't all get too paranoid about this.

Martin Skidmore, Saturday, 27 April 2002 00:00 (twenty-four years ago)

ten months pass...
in my inbox tonite:

dallasdeadgirl Fw:r_gillanders,congratulations Sun 09/03 478k

RJG (RJG), Monday, 10 March 2003 01:26 (twenty-three years ago)

I got something that looked like it was from jel, or he got it from me and rejected it. I have a feeling that someone is fucking with us with some embedded shit on some thread, or is just pulling our email addresses from the pages. Has anyone pulled the plug on the greenspun boards yet?

Sean Carruthers (SeanC), Monday, 10 March 2003 01:34 (twenty-three years ago)

I got the same thing just now Sean - plus some rejected delivery messages that implied that *I'd* been sending stuff to Douglas Wolk and the uk Sean. Weird.

Kim (Kim), Monday, 10 March 2003 01:52 (twenty-three years ago)

three weeks pass...
in my inbox todae:

electricsound Japanese girl VS playboy Fri 04/04 147k

RJG (RJG), Saturday, 5 April 2003 10:43 (twenty-three years ago)

i got a survey thing from masonicboom.its pretty big. that you kate?

gaz (gaz), Saturday, 5 April 2003 11:02 (twenty-three years ago)

anything at 147k or 40k is usually a virus. I get at least 2 virus emails form ilxors a week, I'm too proud to think that people actually hate me and are doing it on purpose.

jel -- (jel), Saturday, 5 April 2003 14:19 (twenty-three years ago)

electricsound Japanese girl VS playboy Fri 04/04 147k

crikey! i must have been asleep when this happened.

electric sound of jim (electricsound), Sunday, 6 April 2003 22:25 (twenty-three years ago)

electricsound Japanese girl VS playboy Fri 04/04 147k

That's the same virus I got sent today from a certain fucker on this board.

Eyeball Kicks (Eyeball Kicks), Sunday, 6 April 2003 22:41 (twenty-three years ago)

Just delete the email. It's not a big deal. The virus is called Klez.

Eyeball Kicks (Eyeball Kicks), Sunday, 6 April 2003 22:46 (twenty-three years ago)

yeah i've gotten 126k+ recently from "grimkim", "gaz", "electricsound" and "masonicboom"

jess (dubplatestyle), Sunday, 6 April 2003 22:58 (twenty-three years ago)

but i don't have a virus!! it's not my fault, honest

electric sound of jim (electricsound), Sunday, 6 April 2003 23:07 (twenty-three years ago)

i didn't do it jess. delete it. fckrs.

gaz (gaz), Sunday, 6 April 2003 23:07 (twenty-three years ago)

grimkim? that's definitely got to be from Greenspun somehow then. I haven't had that attached to my email address for over a year.

Kim (Kim), Monday, 7 April 2003 00:12 (twenty-three years ago)

I deleted it, after thinking.

RJG (RJG), Monday, 7 April 2003 02:10 (twenty-three years ago)

Eventually the viruses will learn to be even more sociable, and take over your family relationships

Millar (Millar), Monday, 7 April 2003 02:17 (twenty-three years ago)

It could be just one person infected with Klez--the virus goes into your address book and spoofs return headers, as well as pulling random files from your computer (as far as I know). Thus all of you could be getting Klez-mail from the same person, or from several people, none of whom might be the names in the "From" line. Did that make any sense?

slutsky (slutsky), Monday, 7 April 2003 03:13 (twenty-three years ago)

I don't think I used any technical terms correctly there.

slutsky (slutsky), Monday, 7 April 2003 03:13 (twenty-three years ago)

but you are correct. i am aware of one instance in which someone in the 'from' header was actually infected, but chances are that it's not the case.

ron (ron), Monday, 7 April 2003 03:57 (twenty-three years ago)

I got a virus from Julio once, even though he didn't let me get past second base.

Chris P (Chris P), Monday, 7 April 2003 06:15 (twenty-three years ago)

Whoooaaa... no. Very strange. My yahoo account does all kindsa crazy things without my knowledge or consent. I hate it.

kate, Monday, 7 April 2003 13:29 (twenty-three years ago)

Yeah, as mentioned above, all it would take would be someone ...ANYONE...going to the boards and looking at a page or two to cache the email addresses and thus get us some evil virii from someone who's infected, probably without even knowing it. And because of that, the person who's sent them is most likely not the person you received the email from, and quite possibly isn't even a regular reader of the board.

Sean Carruthers (SeanC), Monday, 7 April 2003 14:24 (twenty-three years ago)

I get all sorts of fake emails from ILXors. Someone is f-ing with us.

Chris V. (Chris V), Monday, 7 April 2003 14:45 (twenty-three years ago)

or something.

slutsky (slutsky), Monday, 7 April 2003 16:10 (twenty-three years ago)

As Slutsky says, it doesn't mean it's targetted at us or that anyone has trawled Greenspun for all our addresses. It could just be pulling all its info from people's address books.

N. (nickdastoor), Monday, 7 April 2003 16:13 (twenty-three years ago)

one month passes...
in my inbox tonite:

michaelangelomatos Congratulations Thu 08/05 119k

RJG (RJG), Thursday, 8 May 2003 22:42 (twenty-three years ago)

hes fucked everyone else...now hes coming for you!

gaz (gaz), Thursday, 8 May 2003 23:48 (twenty-three years ago)

i apparently sent out a 66k email saying "hi, how are you". this isn't from me.

gareth (gareth), Friday, 9 May 2003 07:30 (twenty-three years ago)


You must be logged in to post. Please either login here, or if you are not registered, you may register here.